Dell XPS 13 review (2020)

The Dell XPS 13 2020 makes the best laptop you can buy even better, due to small enhancements below the hood and a delicate but important evolution of probably the most gorgeous PC screen round. 

The newest XPS 13 comes geared up with Intel’s newest 10th Gen processors, making it an even speedier multitasking machine for browsing the web, getting work performed and doing some light gaming. Dell’s signature InfinityEdge show now sports a trimmed backside bezel that makes staring at movies and displays even more immersive. And more minor touches, reminiscent of a snappy edge-to-edge keyboard and a larger touchpad, simply make the XPS 13 much more of a pride to make use of.

As with previous fashions, the new Dell XPS 13’s svelte design comes at the expense of ports, and you’ll be sacrificing numerous battery life if you go for the 4K style. And now that Apple has finally launched the MacBook Pro 2020 (13-inch) with a revamped Magic Keyboard and a few significantly impressive specifications, Dell's flagship laptop has stiffer festival than ever.

But as you’ll see in our Dell XPS 13 2020 review, Dell’s flagship PC is still the pc to overcome thank you to some smart refinements each in and out.

Dell XPS 13 2020 Specs

Price: $1,249 (beginning)
Display: 13.4-inch Infinity Edge show, 1920 x 1200 or 3840 x 2400
CPU: Tenth-gen Intel Core i3-1005G1/i5-1035G1/ i7-1065G7
Graphics: Intel UHD or Iris Plus
RAM: 8GB or 16GB
Storage: 256GB/512GB/1TB/2TB SSD
Size: 11.64 x 7.eighty two x 0.58 inches
Weight: 2.64 kilos (non-touch); 2.8 kilos (contact) 

Dell XPS 13 2020: Price and configurations 

The Dell XPS 13 2020 currently starts at $1,058, which gets you a 10th Gen Intel Core i3-1005G1 CPU, 8GB of RAM, a 256GB SSD, Intel UHD Graphics and a 13.4-inch 1920 x 1200 show. You can bump the processor up to a Core i5 within the $1,158 type, whilst a $1,458 config gets you a Core i7 processor, 16GB of RAM and Intel Iris Plus graphics.

The 4K model of the XPS 13 starts at $1,858, which will get you a 3840 x 2400 contact display alongside 16GB of RAM, 256GB of SSD garage, a Core i7 CPU and Intel Iris Plus graphics.

We reviewed a $1,749 1080p configuration of the Dell XPS 13, which packs a 1920 x 1200 contact show, an Intel Core i7-1065G7 CPU, 16GB of RAM, a 512GB SSD and Intel Iris Plus graphics. 

Wondering if Dell's greater laptops are for you? Check out our Dell XPS 13 vs. Dell XPS 15 face-off to look how the 2 flagships stack up, as well as our Dell XPS 17 review.

Dell XPS 13 2020: Design 

The Dell XPS 13 2020 makes small however welcomed improvements to essentially the most attractive pc design in the market. Dell’s flagship pc stays a pride to take a look at and use, with a feathery 2.8-pound aluminum development and thin 0.58-inch edges. I particularly love the aluminum external and arctic white interior of our review fashion, however there’s also a silver-and-black choice if you need something more subdued.

Dell after all controlled to squeeze the XPS 13’s webcam to the highest bezel beginning with final year’s model (bye bye, nosecam), and it appears to be like simply as elegant right here. On most sensible of that, the corporate managed to make the bezels even thinner general (extra on that later).

The new XPS 13 includes a twin-coil hinge that makes the pc easy to open with one hand whilst avoiding any ugly bulk close to the bottom of the show. The XPS 13 was already an exquisite piece of machinery — Dell just delicate the small main points this time round.

Dell XPS 13 2020: Ports 

The newest Dell XPS 13 is pretty lean on ports, so be prepared to have a dongle or two handy if you wish to have to attach a ton of accessories directly. 

The pc packs two Thunderbolt Three USB-C ports for charging and connecting to USB-C accessories (equivalent to monitors). Beyond that, you get a microSD reader and a 3.5mm headphone jack. Dell does come with a USB-C to USB-A adapter within the box, which turns out to be useful for other people who want to attach legacy peripherals. But if you’re having a look to glue various external add-ons to the XPS 13, you will have to spring for a USB dock.

Dell XPS 13 2020: Display 

The Dell XPS 13 2020 chops off the chunky backside bezel from previous fashions, for a in reality 4-sided 13.4-inch Infinity Edge display that packs a 91.5% screen-to-body ratio. The result's an even more immersive version of one of the most stunning pc monitors round.

With an engrossing screen-to-body ratio of 91.5%, our XPS 13’s 1920 x 1200 display made the whole lot from films and TV shows to paintings paperwork pop with colour and element. I especially love the display’s deep blacks, which gave textual content in applications like Slack and Google Docs a definite, inky boldness that made things really easy to learn. The XPS 13’s touchscreen was once at hand for quickly hopping between chat conversations and Chrome tabs, and pinching to zoom into web pages was once a snap.

The XPS 13 could also be a super gadget for gazing movies, as I learned whilst rewatching the epic final combat of Avengers: Endgame (and making an attempt not to cry at that Captain America scene). Special results like Iron Man’s orange repulsor blasts or the intense blue thunder of Thor’s hammer bursted with colour, and I may just make out every little crease, scar and piece of stubble on Thanos’ giant purple face. However, I also spotted that the XPS 13’s display screen is just a little glossy -- I noticed each my very own mirrored image in addition to a few fingerprints close to the top of the display when looking at the movie in a sunny room. 

The impressive color and brightness I saw whilst doing work and staring at movies was in large part subsidized up by means of our lab tests. Dell’s lab reproduced 107.5 percent of the sRGB color gamut, which puts it in the same ballpark as the new MacBook Air 2020 (113%) and the HP Elite Dragonfly (117%). 

The 1080p configuration of the XPS 13 turned in an outstanding reasonable brightness of 417 nits in our labs, outshining each the MacBook Air (386 nits) and the Dragonfly (373 nits). However, the 4K type is significantly dimmer than both the 1080p model and the competition, producing simply 301 nits.

Dell XPS 13 2020: Audio 

The XPS 13’s stereo speakers get plenty loud, but provide mixed results when it comes to audio high quality. The crunchy guitar riffs of Four Year Strong’s “Crazy Pills” sounded muddy and blown out at max quantity, regardless that I was inspired on the amount of bass that came throughout the pc’s small audio system.

The extra subdued indie pop of Beach Bunny’s “Dream Boy” fared a bit of higher, because the track’s breezy guitars and vibrant vocals managed to stand out in the combine. But issues still sounded too muffled for my liking after I grew to become the quantity up. The XPS 13’s speakers have been completely serviceable for convention calls and films, however severe song junkies will want to have a pair of the best headphones at hand when it’s time to rock out.

Dell XPS 13 2020: Keyboard and touchpad 

 I’ve been using the XPS 13 as certainly one of my primary paintings machines for the easier a part of every week, and due to the notebook’s keyboard, I don't have any need to forestall any time soon. The XPS 13’s just about edge-to-edge keyboard is a pleasure to sort on, thanks to pleasing, snappy comments and a soft-touch coating that helps to keep issues further comfy. 

This is complemented by the pc’s textured, smooth wrist leisure, which made it simple to hammer away at paperwork for hours at a time. I blazed during the 10fastfingers typing check at 94 words consistent with minute (roughly my norm) with 95% accuracy, and not as soon as did I cramp up while impulsively crunching on the keys. 

The XPS 13’ touchpad is 17% larger than that of remaining 12 months’s model, and the additional real property made it simple to scroll up and down Google Docs or pinch to zoom into internet pages without any friction. Common Windows 10 gestures, equivalent to swiping up with 3 hands to go into multitasking mode or sliding left to switch apps, worked like a breeze.

Dell XPS 13 2020: Performance 

The Dell XPS 13 2020 line features Intel’s newest Tenth Gen processors, including the fast Core i7-1065G7 U series chip packed into our review unit. Dell’s computer handled my daily multitasking workload with out such a lot as a stutter, whether or not I used to be bouncing between well over a dozen Chrome tabs throughout a Hangouts name or leaping between Slack and Discord chats while writing in GDocs.

Our XPS 13 became in a strong 4,847 on the Geekbench Five basic efficiency test, which just about doubles the weaker Y Series Core i5-1030NG7 CPU present in our MacBook Air. We tested the Dragonfly at the older Geekbench 4.Three test, the place our Dell scored an impressive 19,053 compared to HP’s 14,701.

The 512GB SSD packed into our XPS 13 copied about 5GB of information in a snappy 7.92 seconds, for a switch charge of 627 MB consistent with 2d. That pulls ahead of the Dragonfly’s 512GB SSD, which lagged somewhat behind at 424 MBps. 

You’re no longer going to be taking part in the most efficient PC video games at top settings at the Dell XPS 13, but the mainstream laptop’s Intel Iris Plus graphics can nonetheless take care of extra basic titles that play nice with integrated graphics. Dell’s pc ran the racing sport Dirt Three at a easy Fifty eight frames according to 2d. The XPS 13’s 1080p Dirt 3 efficiency doubles that of the HP Dragonfly (31 fps), and the laptop trounced the MacBook Air on our Civilization VI take a look at with a score of 18.7 as opposed to the MacBook’s 7.

Dell XPS 13 2020: Battery existence 

If you need long endurance, get the 1080p Dell XPS 13. This model of Dell’s laptop lasted an epic 12 hours and 39 mins on our internet surfing battery check. This makes the XPS 13 probably the most longest-lasting laptops round. The 1080p Dell XPS 13 tops the MacBook Air 2020 (9:31) and just barely edges out the HP Elite Dragonfly (12:25).

As with many 4K laptops, the UHD model of the Dell XPS 13 takes a success in the case of battery existence. The 4K edition of Dell’s pocket book lasted simplest Eight hours and 14 minutes. So you’ll unquestionably want to keep a charger at hand in case you go for the 4K version of this pc.

Dell XPS 13 2020 review: Verdict

The Dell XPS 13 2020 manages to make our favourite total computer even better, largely thanks to an much more immersive show that will provide you with higher real estate for watching motion pictures and getting work completed. The XPS 13 delivers one of the most very best total efficiency in its elegance due to its 10th Gen Intel CPU, and its snappy keyboard and bigger touchpad make it absolute best for staying productive over long stretches.

As we present in our Dell XPS 2020 review, Dell’s latest laptop also has nice battery life — if you stick to the 1080p fashion. The 4K model of Dell’s laptop doesn’t ultimate relatively so long as the contest, and the XPS 13 stays scant on ports for those who use a lot of exterior accessories. But if you can reside with those small setbacks, the Dell XPS 13 2020 is essentially the most spectacular version but of the best pc you'll be able to buy.

You May Like Also

  • Dell XPS 13 vs MacBook Pro
  • Dell XPS 13 (9300) (13.3-inch 16GB) at Dell for $1,169.99
  • MacBook Pro 2020 (13-inch)
  • Dell XPS 13 vs. Dell XPS 15
  • Dell XPS 13 9300 13.4"...
  • Dell XPS 13 Laptop - w/ 11th...
  • Dell XPS 13 9300 - Core i7...
  • Best movies and shows of 2021 — what to binge right now
  • 10 last-minute gifts and gift cards that can save Christmas
  • Samsung Galaxy S21 FE just leaked in hands-on video — here’s your first look
  • Is Windows Defender good enough for my new laptop?
  • Nectar’s best-selling foam mattress is 45% off in the Boxing Day sales
  • Best movies and shows of 2021 — what to binge right now
  • 10 last-minute gifts and gift cards that can save Christmas
  • Samsung Galaxy S21 FE just leaked in hands-on video — here’s your first look
  • Is Windows Defender good enough for my new laptop?
  • Nectar’s best-selling foam mattress is 45% off in the Boxing Day sales