Dell XPS 15 (2020) review

Dell XPS 15 2020 specifications

Starting worth: $1,079
CPU: 10th Gen Core i5 and Core i7
RAM: 8GB/16GB/32GB/64GB
Storage: 256GB/512GB/1TB/2TB PCIe Three x4 SSD
GPU: Intel UHD Graphics, Nvidia GTX 1650 Ti
Display: 15.6-inch Infinity Edge display (1920 x 1200 or 3840 x 2400)
Battery: 56WHr or 86Whr
Size: 13.Fifty seven x Nine x 0.7 inches
Weight: 4 kilos (non-touch, 56Whr battery), 4.Five kilos (contact, 86Whr battery) 

The Dell XPS 15 (2020) review I've written for you right here afforded me a surprising enjoy: I was totally ok with letting my desktop accumulate mud for a couple of days. The reality is, Dell’s latest 15-inch laptop packs tenth Gen Intel power (we are ready on Tiger Lake) and discrete Nvidia graphics into a slender, sexy package. And it delivers what numerous other folks want: workstation-like performance in a decidedly un-workstation-like design, making it one of the most best laptops for engineering students.

But the real crown jewel of the Dell XPS 15 (2020) is the remodeled InfinityEdge display. This iteration does away with the thick bottom bezel from previous XPS 15s, providing you with a screen this is much less hindered through a chunky edge; it makes motion pictures and games glance the entire extra immersive. 

That big upgrade is complemented by means of some smart tweaks to the keyboard, touchpad and chassis that make Dell’s moveable workhorse even more at ease to make use of. 

The Dell XPS 15 2020’s battery life may well be higher (a minimum of on the 4K style), and it will possibly get fairly noisy under a heavy workload. But with nice efficiency and a phenomenal display packed into an attractive, narrow package deal, the brand new Dell XPS 15 is likely one of the best laptops you'll buy in the event you’re in the hunt for a bigger productivity gadget.  

Dell XPS 15 2020 review: Price and availability 

The Dell XPS 15 2020 begins at $1,079 (but it's recently on sale from $1,259) and is to be had to reserve now from Dell. For that price, you’ll get a 10th Gen Core i5-10300H processor, 8GB of RAM, a 256GB SSD, Intel UHD graphics and a 15.6-inch 19200 x 1200 InfinityEdge show.

Stepping as much as the $1,305 (most often $1,659) configuration will get you a speedier Core i7-10750H CPU as well as discrete Nvidia GeForce GTX 1650 Ti graphics. For $180 extra you can double the reminiscence and storage, for 16GB of RAM and a 512GB SSD.

We reviewed a high-end $2,114 (MSRP: $2,408) version of the XPS 15, which packs an Intel Core i7-10750 GPU, 32GB of RAM, a 512GB SSD, discrete Nvidia GeForce GTX 1650 Ti graphics and a 4K touch show. You can move much more all out than that if you want, with a $2,456 (normally $2,859) configuration that packs a Core i9 CPU and 1TB of garage. 

The Dell XPS 15 doesn't yet have strengthen for Intel's 11th Gen Tiger Lake CPUs — but you'll be able to get leading-edge processors when you go for a slightly smaller device. Our Tiger Lake XPS 13 review presentations the way it also gives longer battery life (on a less-sharp screen). Check out our Dell XPS 13 vs. Dell XPS 15 face-off to peer how the XPS stacks as much as Dell's smaller flagship computer. 

And those that want the most-modern processors must check out our best laptops of CES roundup. The future of laptops is packed with attention-grabbing secondary displays, new GPUs and more.

The XPS 15 dropped in May 2020.

Dell XPS 15 2020 review: Design

Like the new Dell XPS 13 earlier than it, the Dell XPS 15 2020 refines some of the easiest computer designs ever made to near-perfection. Its slender chassis is as graceful as ever, with a smooth silver aluminum lid and sharp 0.71-inch edges that contrasts effectively with the soft-touch keyboard deck inside.

The latest XPS 15 makes better use of real property than last year’s type, with larger keycaps, a far greater touchpad and narrow entrance firing audio system that are all laid out elegantly on the deck. But the most important design trade is the computer’s new 4-sided Infinity Edge show, which ditches the thick bottom bezel from earlier iterations for Dell’s maximum seamless 15-inch pc screen but (extra on that later). 

At 13.57 x 9 x 0.7 inches and 4.Five kilos, the brand new XPS 15 is kind of the similar size as the 16-inch MacBook Pro (14.1 x 9.7 x 0.64 inches, 4.3 kilos) regardless of the latter’s larger display screen. It’s additionally about on par with the 15-inch Microsoft Surface Laptop 3 (13.Four x 9.6 x 0.6 inches), though Microsoft’s computer is notably lighter at 3.Four pounds. It’s price noting that the XPS 15 is a reasonably lighter 4 pounds if you happen to opt for a non-touch display and the smaller 56Whr battery.

Dell XPS 15 2020 review: Ports 

The Dell XPS 15 2020 packs a complete of 3 USB-C ports for charging and connecting to exterior displays and peripherals -- two of which might be Thunderbolt Three for extra-fast connectivity. You additionally get a full-sized SD card reader in addition to a headphone jack, as well as a USB-C to USB-A adapter out of the box.

Apple’s 16-inch MacBook Pro has more Thunderbolt Three ports with a complete of 4, but lacks the XPS 15’s SD card reader. That, blended with the included USB-A adapter, gives the XPS 15 a forged quantity of connectivity, however you still would possibly want a dock or dongle if you’re a power user that depends upon quite a few peripherals immediately. 

Dell XPS 15 2020 review: Display 

The Dell XPS 15 2020 borrows the best thing about the new XPS 13: a truly 4-sided InfinityEdge display, with out a chunky backside bezel to distract you from whatever you’re working on, watching or enjoying. But the impact is even more dramatic at the XPS 15’s 15.6-inch display, which now has a 92.9% screen-to-body ratio for optimum immersion. 

All of that real property, paired with the rich 3840 x 2400 decision on our review unit, made me by no means wish to put the XPS 15 down. When I watched Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker on Dell’s pc, colorful purple and inexperienced laser blasts popped properly against a blue ice cave as TIE Fighters chased the Millennium Falcon. The display also did a super job conserving bits and bobs, such as the stubble of Poe Dameron’s face and the orange-and-white patterns on BB-8’s outer physique.

With such a lot screen house, I used to be ready to paintings comfortably in split-screen mode for hours at a time, bouncing between documents, videos, and Slack chats without having to zoom in on the rest. The wealthy, deep blacks at the XPS 15’s display made reading and enhancing a breeze, and made my Dell S2417DG gaming monitor glance uninteresting by means of comparability.

The XPS 15 will get lots shiny for work and play, registering an average brightness of 434.2 nits on our gentle meter. That’s slightly brighter than the 16-inch MacBook Pro’s 429 nits and better than the Surface Laptop 3’s 380 nits.

The XPS 15’s real-world colour performance was subsidized up by our lab assessments, as the pc replicated an excellent 132.2% of the sRGB colour gamut. Dell’s pocket book tops the MacBook Pro’s 113.9% in addition to the Surface Laptop 3’s 101% ranking. 

The contact display screen on our Dell XPS 15 2020 proved fluid and responsive, and I had no issues scrolling through web pages or pinching to zoom into photos and documents.

Dell XPS 15 2020 review: Audio 

The Dell XPS 15’s top-firing stereo audio system are some of the best I’ve heard on any computer, filling my front room with lively, loud audio that was once particularly heavy on low-end. 

The moody, bouncy bass of Hayley Williams’ “Simmer” popped loudly and cleanly out of the XPS 15’s audio system, getting me to bounce my head alongside instantly. I realized that the song would get a tiny bit distorted at maximum volume, but it surely sounded impressively complete and clear only some notches under the max.

The bass was once again the spotlight after I switched to the competitive alternative rock of Dance Gavin Dance’s “Prisoner.” The massive wall of distorted guitars sat effectively in opposition to the high-pitched vocals of the songs refrain, while the cleaner, funkier guitar riffs in the verse also sounded shiny and crisp.

When I jammed the somber acoustic rock of Phoebe Bridgers’ “Garden Song” at the XPS 15, the singer-songwriter’s voice was once so lucid that it gave the impression of she used to be in the room with me. And as provide as Bridgers sounded, the XPS did an equally great job maintaining the reverberating guitar plucks beneath her croons. 

The Dell XPS 15’s audio efficiency is amplified even additional by way of the Waves Maxx Audio Pro era and Waves professional tuning, in addition to a lot of EQ presets made conceivable by the integrated better half app. The XPS’ audio system sounded considerably louder and fuller with the Waves app activated, and I discovered presets reminiscent of Rock and Pop to be helpful for brightening their respective genres. 

Dell XPS 15 2020 review: Performance 

Packing a 10th Gen Intel Core i7-10750 processor with 32GB of RAM and a 512GB SSD, the Dell XPS 15 2020 is a real multitasking monster. Dell’s powerhouse allowed me to bounce between dozens of Chrome tabs in split-screen mode while concurrently undertaking video calls, sending Slack messages and rocking out to Spotify, all and not using a single stutter. 

On the Geekbench Five general performance test, the  XPS 15 scored 6,174, which is just a little at the back of the Core i9 powered MacBook Pro 16-inch (7,250). Dell’s laptop grew to become in a 25,934 at the older Geekbench Four test, greater than doubling the AMD Ryzen 5 3580U-powered Surface Laptop 3 (11,612).

The XPS 15 took 10 mins and six seconds to transcode a 4K video to 1080p on our HandBrake take a look at. That’s no longer reasonably as quick because the Eight minutes we noticed from the MacBook Pro 16-inch, but well ahead of the just about 25 minutes that the Surface Laptop Three took to complete the duty.

The 512GB SSD in Dell’s computer transferred roughly 5GB of files in 7 seconds on our custom file transfer take a look at, for a transfer price of 708.Nine MBps. That blazes previous the Surface Laptop 3’s 256GB SSD (282.7 MBps). But while it’s now not an apples-to-apples comparability, the 512GB SSD in the 16-inch MacBook Pro used to be predictably blistering, handing over a write velocity of two,805 MBps and a read speed of 2,540 on the Blackmagic disk velocity take a look at. 

Dell XPS 15 2020 review: Graphics 

Our XPS 15 unit got here loaded with a discrete Nvidia GeForce GTX 1650 Ti GPU, giving Dell’s slim workhorse some decent gaming and graphics muscle. 

The XPS 15 ran Shadow of the Tomb Raider at a playable 29 frames in keeping with 2d at 1080p with max settings, just barely edging out the Radeon Pro 5300M in our 16-inch MacBook Pro (27.2 fps). Dell’s laptop breezed throughout the much less difficult Dirt Three racing sport at 134 fps on 1080p and 69 fps at 4K, trouncing the built-in AMD Vega 9 in the Surface Laptop 3 (56 fps at 1080p). 

Dell XPS 15 2020 review: Heat and noise 

With such a lot power and a discrete GPU packed into a slim design, the XPS 15’s fans can get somewhat noisy. While it didn’t occur continuously, I occasionally spotted that the pc would get started sounding like a miniature jet airplane once I ran a lot of packages at once. It can also get a little heat, with the keyboard and underside achieving temperatures with reference to One hundred levels Fahrenheit on our heat gun (we consider anything below Ninety five degrees to be comfy).  

Dell XPS 15 2020: Keyboard and touchpad 

Between their soft-touch coating, 9.7% better keycaps and snappy 1.3mm commute, the Dell XPS 15’s keys are an absolute satisfaction to type on. I never got hand fatigue as I spent hours cranking out articles and composing emails, and performed at my usual tempo at the 10FastFingers typing take a look at at Ninety words in keeping with minute with a 96% accuracy charge. I most often hate ditching the mechanical keyboard at my desktop setup, however I used to be glad to make use of the XPS 15 as my number one work machine for days. 

The XPS 15’s touchpad were given an excellent bigger improve, now measuring 62% larger than the previous model at 5.9 x 3.Five inches. I used to be in a position to scroll via internet pages and pinch to zoom comfortably, and three-finger gesture controls for switching apps and getting into multitasking mode registered in an instant.

Dell XPS 15 2020 review: Webcam 

Now that videoconferencing has become the norm, I’d in point of fact like to look mainstream laptops step their webcam high quality up. That’s sadly no longer the case with the Dell XPS 15 2020’s camera, which made my face look pixelated and blotchy despite accurately taking pictures the colors of the Spider-Man poster in the back of me. 

I give credit score to Dell for buying the webcam on the impossibly narrow top bezel as of ultimate year (not more nose cam!) and the digital camera is still serviceable for on a regular basis calls. But if you wish to have your colleagues to peer you as obviously as imaginable, you’ll want to spring for one of the crucial best webcams as an add-on.

Dell XPS 15 2020 review: Battery lifestyles 

The Dell XPS 15 2020 can final through most of a standard workday on a charge, however you’ll need to stay a plug to hand. Dell’s pc lasted Eight hours and 1 minute on our battery test (continuous web browsing over Wi-Fi), which is decent for a 4K pc, however nonetheless in the back of some key competition.

The 16-inch MacBook Pro lasted nearly 3 hours longer at 10 hours and Fifty five minutes with its 2072 x 1920 show, whilst the Surface Laptop 3 persevered for the same 8 hours as the XPS with a 2496 x 1664 display. 

The XPS 15 2020’s battery existence is in line with the 4K model of its smaller XPS Thirteen sibling, which lasted Eight hours and 14 minutes on our take a look at. The 1080p Dell XPS Thirteen lasted an incredible 12:39, so we’re eager to peer how a lower-resolution XPS 15 holds up when we get our hands on one.

Dell XPS 15 2020 review: Verdict 

The Dell XPS 15 2020 follows in the footsteps of the brand new XPS Thirteen by making small however welcome refinements to one of the crucial perfect laptops you'll be able to purchase. The advanced, really bezel-less InfinityEdge show is likely one of the maximum immersive and gorgeous displays you'll find on a laptop, with sensible colour and a number of genuine estate for getting work completed.

The XPS 15’s better keycaps and touchpad make Dell’s computer at ease to use for lengthy stretches of time, and it’s impressively loud speakers can fill small rooms with rich sound. Pair that with tenth Gen Intel CPUs and an not obligatory Nvidia GTX 1650 Ti GPU, and the XPS 15 2020 has more than sufficient muscle for everyday multitasking as well as video enhancing and gaming. 

The 4K version of the XPS 15 doesn’t last relatively so long as the 16-inch MacBook Pro (regardless that we predict better battery from the 1080p version), and the system’s fanatics can get a bit of noisy at full pace. Power users may also need to imagine the brand new Dell XPS 17, which packs a larger display screen and non-compulsory RTX graphics for superior content material advent. But if you’re in search of a conveyable workhorse that’s as sexy as it is tough, the XPS 15 is without doubt one of the perfect in its elegance. 

You May Like Also

  • Dell XPS 15 9500 Laptop - w/...
  • Dell XPS 15 9500 Laptop...
  • Dell XPS 15 9500 15.6”...
  • best laptops for engineering students
  • Dell XPS 15 (9500) at Dell for $1,199.99
  • Intel's 11th Gen Tiger Lake
  • Dell XPS 13 vs. Dell XPS 15
  • Microsoft Surface Laptop 3
  • The best cheap Bluetooth speakers in 2021
  • Santa Tracker: How to follow Santa live around the world
  • People quickly grow tired of Alexa, report claims — and I'm not surprised
  • Best last-minute Christmas gifts 2021 — what you can get in time
  • The best cheap Bluetooth speakers in 2021
  • Santa Tracker: How to follow Santa live around the world
  • People quickly grow tired of Alexa, report claims — and I'm not surprised
  • Best last-minute Christmas gifts 2021 — what you can get in time